Parents and Unconditional Love.

Standard

I still cry every time I watch this video because it reminds me so much of my own father when he was still alive. When I was still in high school, my father suffered from a hypertensive attack that left a blood clot in his brain. After that, he never got back to his normal routine. Worse, his memory was also affected.

Every thing changed after that.

I guess his favorite place was the bench just outside our house. He would sit there, eating his favorite crackers (Skyflakes) while watching people walk by. And every time I sit beside him, he would ask, “What day is it?”. And I would reply. But the thing is, in less than five minutes or so, he would ask the same question over and over again. There were times when I would just smile and repeat my answer. And repeat. And repeat. But there are also times when I run out of patience and just answer hurriedly and take my leave. Times I really regret. If only I have been more patient, I wouldn’t have wasted those times.

But knowing the man that he is, I know he understood.

I love you Papa.

Our last picture together. Taken August 28, 2010. Papa died September 10, 2010.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

