Day 3 – A Trip to the Market! (Part 2)

Standard
Day 3 – A Trip to the Market! (Part 2)

I just love going to the market – looking around at endless possibilities of dishes to be served. I don’t cook that much, why should I when my brother-in-law is an excellent “chef”. So I just go around the market with him and point at stuff I want to eat and tadaaaa…it’s always a wish come true.

The variety of seashells available in our market is amazing. Although if you’re going to ask a local, they would say that this has been considerably depleted already. But if you are from the metro, the sight of all these seashells is incredible.

This has been my favorite since I was a kid. I actually do not know what this particular type of seashell is called. All I can remember is the green broth and tasty flesh. We actually use safety pins to get the flesh out off the shell.

We don’t usually cook this one because we eat it slightly raw. All you need is to dip the flesh in vinegar and you’re good to go. Well, that style ain’t for everyone. Hehe.

Apparently, everything in our market is my favorite. But this one will easily become your favorite – for P20/slice, why not? We call this one Langgisan (I hope I got it right).

Not everything in our market is fresh..because some are dried. πŸ˜€ We call this Bulad or dried fish. With your P20 you can already buy a handful.

Ginamos, our version of the fish bagoong, is an excellent partner for green mangoes or boiled saba banana. πŸ˜€

Of course, the star of the day – Kinilaw! Thanks to my soon-to-be-brother-in-law for preparing this one. Hhmmmm.. I just notice and I have to admit, our guys are the better cooks.. πŸ™‚

Cheers! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

